Kenya | Groove Awards 2017 Winners – The Complete List!

Groove Awards 2017 Kenya winners

The 12th Annual Groove Awards with Safaricom took place on the 1st of June 2017 at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre at a high profile red carpet gala event. The star-studded event saw winners unveiled in thirty-two different categories, twenty-six of them being public choice awards, five special merit categories, and the Skiza Ringback TUne award.

Leading the awards with two wins each were Eko Dydda (Male Artist; Hip-Hop song of the year), Mercy Masika (Female Artist; Skiza Ringback Tone) and exciting new entrants Kymo & Stigah (Song of the year; Afro-pop song) as well as praise & worship band Adawnage (Group of the year; Video of the year).

Groove Awards 2017 Kenya winners

Secular-turned-Gospel rapper Collo bagged the collabo of the year for his 2016 dance sensation ‘Bazokizo’, while Weezdom was one of the feel good stories of the night, with a moving acceptance speech narrating his journey from a garbage collector from the Mathare slums to a Groove Award winner.

See full list of the winners below:

• Female Artiste of the Year – Mercy Masika
• Male Artiste of the Year – Eko Dydda
• Song of the Year – Thitima by Kymo and Stiga
• DJ of the Year – DJ Ruff
• Group of the Year – Adawnage Band
• Hip Hop Song of the Year – Eko Dydda
• New Artiste of the Year – Weezdom
• Album of The Year – Optimo Worship by Pastor Anthony Musembi
• Afro Pop Song of the Year – Thitima by Kymo and Stiga
• TV Show of the Year – Angaza on KBC
• Collabo of the Year – Collo and Bruz Newton for Bazokizo
• Audio Producer of the Year – Magic Mike
• Video Producer of the Year – Sammy Dee
• 2017 Talent to Watch – MC Neb
• Songwriter of The Year – Pitson
• Skiza Ringback Tone of the Year – Shule Yako by Mercy Masika
• Gospel Radio Presenter of the Year – Eva Mwalili of Milele FM
• Gospel Radio Show of the Year – Gospel Sunday on Milele FM
• Worship song of the Year – Patakatifu Pako by Eric Smith
• Reggae song of the Year – Hopekid
• Dance Group of the Year – Mavericks
• Video of the Year – I Live For You by Adawnage
• Nyanza County Song of the Year – Jakayuda Iberna by Joan Amayo
• Coastal County Song of the Year – Yuko Nawe by Mercy D Lai
• Central County Song of the Year – Geria Ringi by Jane Muthoni
• Eastern County Song of the Year – Yesu Nde Compe by Stephen Kasolo
• Rift Valley County Song of the Year – Atiriren by Margaret Cheruiyot
• Western County Song of the Year – Khubira Byosi by Timothy Kitui and Ole Willy
• Western Africa Artist Of The Year – Ada (Nigeria)
• Eastern & Central Africa Artist Of The Year – Ahavah Gospel Singers (Ethiopia) | Angel Benard (Tanzania)
• South African Artist of the year – Pompi from Zambia
• Outstanding Contributor of the Year – All Over Dance Crew

source – groove awards

Permission to copy articles/excerpts from this site is subjected to credit given to Gmusicplus with linkback


A Blogger, Social Media Enthusiast, Music Lover, Ideator,Digital Marketer & Publicist who loves God.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button